Mary’s Adventure in Ullswater, Lake District

My friend Eileen said she wanted to take me to Ullswater to meet her sisters and have an adventure!

I had a long journey from Edinburgh via Lancaster, and we had to go on a bus because the train was ‘off’ that Sunday.

I was very pleased to arrive and decided to have a nap.

#

However, being like my sister Claire, an adventurous bear, I went to look at the weir which had risen after all the rain. I was a bit worried that I might end up in the water!

#

We went to a rather nice Art gallery, with a friendly lady on the counter. Just as well as it was a miserable day.

#

At Holker Hall, country seat of the Marquis of Cavendish, the house and garden was super but we liked the café

#

I wanted to show everyone that it was a National Trust property.

#

I enjoyed looking at the old recipes at Wordsworth’s House, but preferred the cake!

#

We went to Ullswater through the mountains for our next journey.

This is beautiful!

#

We arrived at a forest where the river was fierce and fell 20 metres down the hills (the river, not me!)

#

A friendly Dad stopped to say hello to me, and his little girl enjoyed looking at me

#

Sadly that was the last day of the holiday, so the next day we were off to Grange- over- Sands station to catch the train back.

Thank you Eileen for letting me experience the beautiful Lake District.

Leave a Reply

