Benji Bear’s Adventures with the Scouts in Austria – July 2013

I was invited by the 21st Craigalmond, (South Queensferry) Scouts along with some Scouts from 1st Craigalmond (Kirkliston) Scout Troop to go to Scout Camp Austria, Sankt Georgen near to Salzburg.

I jumped at the chance, but I had to get a scout jumper and a kilt to look the part. I decided to go the whole ‘hog’ and get a set of bagpipes, but hoped no one would ask me to play, as I don’t know how!

Image

I had a last look at the bridge before we leave – oops, my sporran has slipped!

Image

A Young Leader is fixing my uniform, I am a bit untidy.

Image

When they said Euro Tunnel I thought we were going by train, not walking!

Image

Well we have arrived in Austria, now to go to the campsite! It all looks nice, but I wonder where I am sleeping, I hope it is in the building!

Image

 I thought this was the food prep Table….what are you doing to me?Image

Oh, it’s a climbing harness and my own climbing rope, now I can practise absailing!

Well it is an adventure camp so I have to be adventurous!

Image

………. I am exhausted already and it is only the first day!!

Image

I wonder what my next adventure will be?

Image

Oh, oh, what does this mean, you do know wet teddy bears smell TERRIBLE?

Image

Whew, saved. Thank you! I didn’t want to go on the River Salzach.

Image

I’m glad they left me behind for this, I’m not as adventurous as I thought I was.

Image

This is how I prefer to view the water!

Image

With all my new friends outside Salzburg Cathedral, can you spot me in the middle?

Image

At least we are going home on the train, and not walking!

I am totally exhausted but I had a great time, can I come with you all again please, maybe?

Leave a Reply

