Is This The End?

As there is no sign of charities being able to restart moving donated items, it is with great sadness that I have decided, after 10 years, to give up as Queensferry’s Co-ordinator in January and am now winding down.

The only charity I have found appealing for knitted items is in London (none local!) They will take certain items, eg knitted teddies, blankets, scarves and mitts only, (no hats or baby items) and I am sending these down to London. They are being distributed in the UK to families in low income areas, homeless people, residents of care homes or women’s refuges, or patients in hospitals as they also are unable to send abroad at the moment.

Changes to other countries customs regulations are going to make it very difficult for charities to accept many knitted items unless they have labels. Impossible for us to do.

Many charities have storage facilities bursting at the seams as they are unable at present to move items on. Many charities lost their storage units during lockdowns and are unable to take anything in.

For my regular volunteers waiting to hear from me, I am taking what you have been holding for me and these will be sent to London, but I will be unable to take any more after that.

The charity is “Knit for Peace” if anyone wants to send anything direct themselves. They have a website and they let people know what items they need the most and what they can’t take.

If any local person decides they would like to take on this initiative in South Queensferry once things are moving again, I would be more than delighted and willing to help.

Leave a comment